Reflections on being a vegetarian

I thought this was a nice post by Ashley at www.ourlittleapartment.com.

vegan, vegetarian, farmers, market

She was reflecting on the changes she seen and learned after being a vegetarian for 9 years.
Here are a couple of points I thought were of particular interest:
“People aren’t sure what the difference between vegetarian and vegan are. Almost every time I mention that I’m vegetarian, someone asks me if I eat eggs and dairy. I do! I love cheese! If I didn’t eat those things, I’d say I was a vegan. Now gimme that cheese.”
“It’s popular to try out vegetarianism. Until it’s not.”
“It’s not all or nothing. For me, it is. It was easier to just say, “I’m a vegetarian” than say, “Well, I don’t really like meat,””
“Don’t get caught up in rules.”
She makes some other observations as well. I also think it’s great that people try it as a cleanse or 22 day vegan diet. This enables people to see what it takes to make the commitment to going meatless.
To see the rest of it please click here http://bit.ly/1a4SmNe
Leave a Reply

